Family Trees

12 Jul

Ah, Brooklyn. Lovely Brooklyn. I’m talking about the city and not David Beckham’s son. That would be a sick blog even for the likes of me.

I’ve said it many times but there really must be something in the NYC water because time and time again it produces such wonderful music. Granted, I’m sure there are a lot of bands in the city that are utter tripe but at the same time, there just seems to be a constant flow of great music coming from there as it always has done.

Family Trees are no different – a trio who hold microphones, the Beach Boys and the word “yes” aloft as influences. Dream Talkin’ is a lovely summer song that’s a song that has been sitting on my iPod for a couple of months now and it’s one that I’ve been wanting to blog about for a while. It sounds like how I imagine a summer in the 1960s would’ve sounded – when the world seemed so much simpler, happier and positive. My only gripe? It’s too bloomin’ short.

Family Trees – Dream Talkin’

I dare you to listen to it and not smile. I bet you an ice cream that you can’t do it.

http://www.myspace.com/familytrees

One Response to “Family Trees”

  1. littlemissmosher July 12, 2010 at . #

    you’re right about brooklyn, many ace bands coming out from there last couple of years (my “guv’nor” has had many of them on in session) – seems to be there and portland, oregon making up half of the USA’s hot new bands lately 🙂 i’ll note to give this lot a listen tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

