SXSW 2010 Playlist

28 Mar

If you were unable to make the trip over to sunny Texas for the annual music industry jolly up recently then fear not. I have put together a playlist of all the best bands from the event.

In a way, it’s better than being there. You get to hear great new music without having to walk anywhere, queue up for hours or wake up with the worst hangover you’ve had since the year before. Plus it’s cheaper than flying all the way across the Atlantic Ocean, not to mention being better for the environment. Hell, why would anybody go to SXSW? I’ve just highlighted perfect reasons not to go.

Actually, there’s one thing missing from this playlist that I simply can’t replicate about SXSW. You know what that is? No, not the weather. Too obvious. I’m talking about, of course, STEAK. Mmmm. There really is nothing like a Texan BBQ.

So, I can’t bring you steak (my days of working at Aberdeen Steak House are long gone I’m afraid) but I can bring you the bands that you missed, the bands that you need in your life and bands that should make some serious waves over the course of this year and beyond! If there’s any justice in the world.

Did I just quote Lemar in my blog? Oh dear. I’ve reached a new low.

Anyway, here’s the tracklisting. You can find the link to the playlist at the bottom. Let me know what you think on Twitter and don’t be afraid to say hello to me either. Please. I didn’t have many friends at school. 

Magic Kids – Hey Boy

Mountain Man – Real

Memory Tapes – Bicycle

Wild Yaks – River May Come

Shearwater – Hidden Lake

Dam Funk – Mirrors

Bear in Heaven – Ultimate Satisfaction

Holly Miranda – Forest Green Oh Forest Green

Princeton – Shout It Out

Small Black – Weird Machines

Tanlines – New Flowers

Banner Pilot – Central Standard

My Tiger My Timing – This Is Not The Fire

Matt Pond PA – Reading

Pepi Ginsberg – Navy and Sand

Two Hours Traffic – I Feel Naked Without My Cellphone

Japandroids – Young Hearts Spark Fire

Smith Westerns – Be My Girl

Hole – Violet

Toro Y Moi  – Left Alone at Night

Titus Andronicus – Titus Andronicus

Rogues – Not So Pretty

Fanfarlo – I’m A Pilot

Okkervil River – For Real

Fools Gold – Surprise Hotel

Rogue Wave – Own Your Own Home

Duchess Says – Black Flag

JJ – Into The Light

The Chapman Family – Kids

Smoke Fairies – Frozen Heart

Band of Skulls – Death By Diamonds and Pearls

The Drums – Let’s Go Surfing

Local Natives – Camera Talk

Phantogram – Running From The Cops

Trashtalk – Luck

Daedelus – Fair Weather Friends

Diamond Rings – Wait and See

Le Loup – Planes Like Vultures

Dum Dum Girls – Longhair

Motorhead – Ace of Spades

Unicorn Kid – Animal City

Frightened Rabbit – Good Arms vs Bad Arms

No Age – Everybody’s Down

Muse – Undisclosed Desires

Wild Palms – Over Time

Middleman – Blah Blah Blah

Broken Bells – The Ghost Inside

The XX – VCR

Foxy Shazam – Red Cape Diver

Beach Fossils – Desert Sand

Delta Spirit – People C’mon

We Were Promised Jetpacks – Quiet Little Voices

Das Racist – Rainbow in the Dark

Oh No Ono – Helplessly Young

Cymbals Eat Guitars – And The Hazy Sea

Anti-Pop Consortium – Volcano

Minus The Bear – Knights

Neon Indian – Deadbeat Summer

Ra Ra Riot – Ghost Under Rocks

Rival Schools – Good Things

Fucked Up – Son The Father

The Antlers – Kettering

And relax those fingers. As promised, here’s the link:

http://tinyurl.com/yz8enya

Leave a Reply

