NewIslands – Out of Time

8 Mar

I was enjoying a spot of NewIslands the other day and my dad came in and asked me what I was listening to. I told him, “NewIslands” to which he replied “New Island? Isn’t that a clothes shop?”. I imagine he got the name mixed up with New Look and River Island bless him (other high street fashion retail outlets are available). Nevertheless, I told him to get out of my sight.

That may or may not have actually happened by the way.

I’ve been keeping a close eye on NewIslands since seeing them last May. I’ve blogged about them on here several times since but it was very hard to big them up properly because they were very much a baby band at the time. By that I mean, they were a new band still finding their feet, not that they were dribbling everywhere and soiling themselves on a regular basis. Well, except for the drummer obviously. Bloody drummers.  

Anyway, I digress. Since seeing them last summer, they’ve been gigging pretty relentlessly around London gaining a whole heap of praise along the way and getting their recordings up to a level that does the band justice. In so many cases, because I go and hunt for bands that are so new, the recordings don’t always tell the whole story. 

Nevertheless, NewIslands have been very busy boys by all accounts and are set to release their debut single ‘Out of Time’ next week. And it’s good. So very good.  

I said to people last summer that NewIslands were ones to watch (sorry Levis) purely off the back of the gig I saw (I believe it was their first London gig) but I never really had anything to back it up. Well, now I do. Here’s the video to their debut single, which as I said, is out next week.

3 Responses to “NewIslands – Out of Time”

  1. cubba March 9, 2010 at . #

    AMAZING BAND! Pure Festival heaven – dancing to this song in wellies in a field!

  2. joe March 10, 2010 at . #

    Love the video!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When previous posts collide… « - June 10, 2010

    […] Jun Hey kids! Remember when I told you about NewIslands? No? Well, click the link. Yes? Good. Remember when I told you about Get People? No? Well, click […]

Leave a Reply

