Broken Bells

11 Feb

What do you call a man without shins? Tony.

It’s often said that when making a speech to start with a joke. Now, I’m not about to make a speech as such but I wanted to write something different for a change because my blogs tend to be one and the same – I tell you about a band, then tell you they’re great, then post a video. Predictable. I intend to change this right here, right now.  

In fact, the joke I decided to open with could be applied to this post actually. Allow me to try…

What do you call a member of Gnarls Barkley without shins (Cee-Lo was feeling a bit peckish)? Tony. Or, better still, what do you call a member of Gnarls Barkley with or without shins (NOT a U2 song) with James Mercer from the Shins? Broken Bells. 

OK, that was a very tedious and rather lame attempt at humour. I do apologise. I think perhaps I should shut up.

Basically, Danger Mouse (Gnarls Barkley founder and highly acclaimed producer) has teamed up with James Mercer from the much adored Shins to make some interesting music. It sounds like this:

Good innit?

Oh and did you know that Danger Mouse’s real name is Brian? I have no idea why his nickname Danger Mouse. Perhaps he enjoys Swiss cheese and bungee jumping. Perhaps he is just a fan of all cartoons voiced by David Jason. Who knows?

As far as I am aware, James Mercer is not a nickname.

Their album is due out in March. As individuals, their talent is undeniable and I’m sure that this collaboration will be the sound of two masters at work.

Leave a Reply

