Gyratory System

1 Feb

With the internet making it so easy to find new music these days, I often think that it’s easy to forget so much great music at the same time. With so music available online, I tend to skim through a lot of bands. More so than I did when I used to only hear new music by either hearing it on the radio or buying it in a record shop. Those days are long gone obviously.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the way the internet has opened my eyes and ears to new music in a way that just would not have been possible before – but the fact there is so much music available on cyberspace makes it very hard for someone like me to stay focused. By that I mean, I can name you hundreds of great bands I’ve found in the past year but I’ve probably only heard one song by a lot of these bands at the most.  

So, in a lot of instances, I’ll find a band with a tune I like, I’ll post them on here and often forget about them. Not deliberately, I will just naturally want to discover something else.

Gyratory System were a band that I heard early last year and they were one of those bands that slipped out of my memory due to the large amount of time I spend listening to new bands.

Anyway, for those that follow this blog, you may remember them appearing on a mixtape that I made for you all. I’ve just been listening to their album ‘The Sound-Board Breathes’ and feel somewhat guilty for forgetting about a band THIS good.

They make loop heavy intelligent electronic disco music in a similar way that Holy Fuck and Death in Vegas do. Layers build, tension increases and your ears are just left in a state of bleepy confusion. All you’ll want to do is shut out the outside world and dance. It says a lot when you’re asked to support 2ManyDJs by brothers Dewaele personally!

Some might argue that making electronic music is easy – all you need is a computer. Whilst that might be the case to some degree (yes, it IS possible to make electronic music on a computer alone), there are bands and producers that use production techniques to do things that no musicians can do. They create brand new sounds. They open up a whole new world of musical possibilities. These artists are pioneers. Gyratory System are pioneers.

They’ve got some music on Spotify. Add them to your playlist. You will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

