Working for the man

4 Nov

Hey all. I apologise for the lack of posts in the past month or so. Some of you may be confused by this considering I used to blog three or four times a day.

Well, there’s no cool way of putting it I’m afraid. The only explanation I can give is that I am now working full time and don’t get online as much as I used to. It’s only a temporary measure though. The plan is to move back to London in January. That’s stage one of my plan. Once I’m in London, I can start hounding companies like a tramp asking for change.

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve been listening to albums more so than hunting for new music. I’m relying on John Kennedy and Huw Stephens for the next few weeks. The reason for this is that I’m already starting to think about my albums of the year. I drew up a provisional list and it was massive so I’m listening to a lot of them again.

Listening to albums takes a lot more time than listening to a few minutes of a new band on MySpace. I have to listen to a lot of them in my car for some reason. Some music just sounds better when you’re driving on an empty motorway (that’s highway to you American folk)… perfect example, And So I Watch You From Afar’s self-titled.

I won’t do the full list until December (there’s a small matter of the Them Crooked Vultures album to come!) but it’s a pretty sweet list so far. Some obvious choices in there and some ones that may surprise you. It’s all pretty varied too – everything’s covered pretty much. Apart from jazz, you all know I hate that shit.

Right then, off I go to work for the man. What man? Which man? Who’s the man? What makes a man a man? Am I a man? yes, technically I am.

Oh sweet music industry, won’t you save me?!

Leave a Reply

