The Future

8 Oct

Hey all. I’ve been thinking for a while now about the ways I share music with you and have started to question if blogging is the best way to go about it. The simple fact is, writing about music doesn’t do it justice in my opinion. Unless of course you are an amazingly creative journalist.

I am not a creative writer and have never claimed to be. I feel that I am selling the bands short by only writing about them on here and nothing more. I love discovering new music and I am constantly doing it. Being unemployed has been great on that front. It has allowed me time to hunt. It is something I will never get tired of. The reason being that I always have the thought that right NOW, right this second, there could be the most amazing band ever playing somewhere in the world. What keeps me going is the fact that I have not found them yet. Even when I do find a band that I think is mindblowingly brilliant, I always want more and I will never stop searching for it. It’s like an ongoing journey. A great journey yes but it is one that I will never stop.

My ambition is to do this for a living. I know I can. I simply love discovering music too much for it to just be a hobby. I don’t want to do anything else with my life. Sadly, there are hundreds and thousands of others out there like me. Some might know more than I do, some may write with more passion, emotion and description than I do and you can bet your house that all of these people want to work in the music industry too.

I’ve just finished uni. I was driven there by my love for music and my desire to work in the industry. I didn’t go there for anything else. Now I’m trying to get a job in A&R and it’s not as easy as getting a job in a supermarket let me tell you. I know I can do it and I know I will get there but I have to explore ways in which I can prove myself further. Which is why I have started to consider this blog.

So, from now on, I will still blog but I will be doing a whole lot more to share music with you. Firstly, I am going to start making  mixtapes that you can download and listen to as and when you wish to. We’ll see where that gets us but I am sure you will love the music I put together. I have further plans beyond that but it’s really not worth doing until I know I actually have an audience! 

I can assure you that I will put 100% effort into bringing you the best new music I discover. I fully believe in all of the bands I blog about and if you’ve only read this a few times or just come across it now, I encourage you to go back and check out the bands I’ve raved about. You won’t be disappointed.

I realise it’s a bit of a pain in the arse to have to load MySpace pages up, wait, listen and then come back here to find another band and repeat the process. So I’m hopefully going to make it a lot easier with a free mixtape every week. Stick it on your iPod and listen to it when shopping, on your daily commute or wherever you wish to. I really think that’s the best way for me to share my discoveries with you.

So, from tomorrow, and on random Fridays as and when after that, I will bring you a selection of new music. Could be five tracks, could be twenty. It depends on my mood really! Some of which I will have blogged about on here before, some I won’t have. Some of the music may be familiar to you, some may not. I really have no idea who the hell is reading this y’see!

Add me on Twitter and I’ll let you know when a new mixtape is available.

A lot of my friends come to me when they want to hear new music and I love that. It’s my little gift to the world I guess. Allow me to spend hours finding new music on your behalf. I won’t object. It sure as hell beats a real job! 

If you like what you hear, get in touch with me via here and let me know what you think. Any feedback would be most welcome! Plus, if there’s any music you think I need to hear, let me know. It’s always great to know more. One can never know enough right?!

Until next time,

Mattie

Leave a Reply

