Noel Thomas David Gallagher

29 Aug
Firstly, I am aware that writing this probably makes me a bit sad and I’m sure that a lot of you will take the piss out of me for it but I couldn’t care less! If you don’t want to read it, don’t. If you want to reply and say “Oasis are shit blah blah blah” feel free, but you’ll look like a fool. I’m entitled to my opinion. So there.

Initially, the news of Noel quitting Oasis didn’t really bother me because it wasn’t the first time that he’s vowed to leave. In 1994, he went missing on Oasis’ first American tour – running off with the door money after a horrific gig in LA only to be talked back into rejoining a few weeks later. In 1996, he flew home early from America a few weeks after conquering Knebworth and agreed to make Be Here Now as a final album, but then realised after touring it that life as a rock star is something that you’d be a fool to give up and in 2000, he quit overseas touring.

So could this be the case of the boy who cried wolf or it could be the final straw? I was convinced it was a huge over-reaction yesterday and his decision was made in the heat of the moment after almost a whole year of touring – with your brother in your life 24/7. I can’t stand to be in the same room as any of my family members for more than an hour or so at a time. I couldn’t possibly begin to imagine how horrible it would be working, travelling, living and eating with them on a daily basis – and his brother is Liam Gallagher who doesn’t strike me as the easiest person in the world to live with.

However, Noel released another statement last night which seems to hammer in the last nail and convince me that this is definitely happening.

Anyway, here’s my thoughts:

Regardless of what your opinions are on Oasis, I wouldn’t be the person that I am today had they never existed and I can say that with complete honesty. Some might say (wahey!) that this is not necessarily a good thing – some people might not like my hair, the way I walk, the way I turn into Liam Gallagher when I get angry, the way I cover up my inseurity by being arrogant and cocky in a Noel esqe manner or indeed the way I write songs but that’s who I am and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Some of you reading this will be younger than I am and you probably won’t get where I am coming from. I don’t expect you to. It’s just that Oasis came along at a time in my life where I was going through adolescence and every experience that occured in that time is what made me who I am today. The memories of have from that time shape the way I handle things now and will handle things in the future.

In 1994, I had just moved back to the UK from Texas. I always loved music when I was really young but it was only when I moved to America that I started to venture beyond the ‘pop’ charts – believe me, in 1990 – all I wanted to listen to was Bros, Kylie and Jason Donovan… say no more. Anyway, when moving to America, I was fortunate enough to be in amongst the ‘grunge’ scene – granted, I was too young to go to gigs but bands like Nirvana sent me on a new road of music discovery where I started to feel that music was more than just sound and something that was on the radio on the way to soccer practice (yes, I used to be into sports, go figure). I could lose myself in music and escape reality and it sounds a bit pathetic but music to me became like a religion in the sense that I had something to believe in. So there were bands that I loved when I was in America – Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Sonic Youth, Badbrains, White Zombie, Pantera to name a few and these bands made me want to play guitar and be in a band. I also loved Naughty By Nature, Sir-Mix-Alot and Kris Kross too but for some reason these guys didn’t touch me in the same way… although, I did wear my clothes backwards once when it was all the rage.

When I moved back to England, I gave up the sports (go outside in the rain and cold? Are you fucking mental?!) and sat in my room a lot sulking over the death of Kurt Cobain. I was 12 years old and had lost a hero but in the same week of his death, Oasis released their first single and it came along at just the right time. I don’t know what it was about them but it grabbed me and millions of others. Whilst the bands I’d love before made we want to play guitar, Oasis made me play guitar. I wanted to be in Oasis from day one, I absorbed everything they did and said like a sponge. For those of you that are my age or a bit older, you will rememeber how important they were and how big they were – no band has done it since and with the internet age dilluting bands into various genres, I don’t think a band will ever be that big again.

My dad got a guitar for Christmas in 1994 and I spent the next few months playing around on it – much to his annoyance! I remember spending weeks trying to teach myself the riff to Cigarettes and Alcohol and feeling like I’d won the lottery when I did finally did it. In September 1995, I started to have guitar lessons at school. As I said, fuck going out to play football in the rain and snow. Learning the guitar gave me a) a reason to stay in the warm and b) it gave me a believe that I could do something with my life and (as sad as it sounds) be like Oasis. I bought every magazine they were in and read the interviews over and over until I could remember every single word. I was obsessed. The more obsessed I got, the more I pushed myself to learn the guitar and then eventually I started to write songs (with really bad lyrics funnily enough…). Then came the hair, the clothes, the walk, the mannerisms and the talk (how many times in one conversation do I say “d’yer know I what I mean”?!)

I know people will argue that Noel ripped off loads of artists and I couldn’t agree more but that actually made me more interested in music. ‘Rock n Roll Star’ sounds an awful lot like ‘That’s Entertainment’ which got me into The Jam, ‘Cigarettes and Alcohol’ introduced me to T-Rex and so on and so on. I was getting an education that was better than any music teacher could ever give me and as I said, Oasis made me believe in life and they made music my religion (as pretentious as that sounds).

As I grew up, Oasis became the soundtrack of so many amazing memories. They were the life and soul of every conversation and party and were with me for all the good times and the bad. Everything I do is linked to them in someway – the clothes I wear, my outlook on life, the lifestyle I sometimes lead. It’s not me deliberately trying to copy them, it just happened. Whilst their popularity and relevance diminished in recent years, I still loved them. Not just because of the way they shaped my life but because of the amazing music they made.

I don’t care what anybody says, Noel has written some classics (too many to mention) that will stand the test of time and will be compared to the Beatles – not just because of how they sound but by the sheer genius of the songs. To anybody that says ‘he just writes basic songs that rip of others and his lyrics are shit’ well… he did well out of it didn’t he? Maybe you should give it a go and come back when your life changing and pioneering (and completely original) band becomes the biggest band in the country and one of the all time greats and then have a go at him. Easier said than done.

I am sure that he will have a successful solo career if he decides to do so. He has always declared his love for Neil Young and I can see him doing music like that for the rest of his life. In fact, I think this could be for the best.

Perhaps the sound of Oasis was something that couldn’t have continued with old men. Oasis’ music was often about escapism and looking to the future with dreams and ambition. Once you’ve achieved all of that, what can you write about? I think in the last few years especially, something hasn’t seemed right with Oasis musically and I think that the transition from being young with no real responsibilty to then having a family and a whole load of responsbility means that they simply couldn’t make the same music anymore… life changes who you are and ultimately that will change the music you make. It’s been said by many people for the last few years especially that Oasis are ‘past it’ and ‘not as good as they used to be’ but a 27 year old on the dole won’t be able to write the same music when he’s a 42 year old mult-imillionaire father of two. Not only that, but the people who grew up with that music and now older and wiser (ha!) too. Times change. People change.

I was speechless after seeing them last October. I left the gig early. The band played with no passion or conviction. They were going through the motions. There was no excitement or energy. The only people that seemed to enjoy it were idiots that had probably never seen Oasis before and enjoy their Saturday nights ‘avin a faaaackin’ kebab, a few sherbets and a punch up in a boozer. Geezers. You know the sort – avid readers of the Sun, work on building sites, etc… twats that probably don’t even appreciate the music and are only there because they think the can related: “Liam likes lager and I faaakin’ LOVE lager! Come on Terry, let’s go daaaan Wembley and see them. I’ll piss in a faaakin’ cup and throw it at people innit.”. Oasis may have been lager louts in the early days and lived the cliched rock n roll lifestyle yes but they also made music (great music) and achieved something with their lives. The only thing these idiots have probably ever made is a bacon sandwich. I’m digressing, but god those people piss me off… anyway, as I was saying, the last few times of seeing Oasis have left me with an empty feeling. I have no idea why, it’s just not been the same and I’m a huge fan (can you tell?). So maybe the time is right to call it a day.

I have no idea what the future holds but I am certain that we won’t have seen the last of the Gallagher brothers. I am actually looking forward to hearing Noel’s long-spoke of solo album more so than hearing another Oasis record. Every Oasis album that’s been released this century has never been as exciting as I had hoped – but then in comparison to Definitely Maybe and all the other great bands that have come along since, nothing ever will.

So Mr Noel Gallagher, thanks for making me and millions of others who we are today, making amazing music, giving us hope and ambition as well as some fucking hilarious comments over the years. Whether or not you are an Oasis fan or not, I encourage you to YouTube interviews with Noel. This word gets thrown about a lot but he is a legend in every sense of the word and will not be forgotten. I believe Noel can and will be as big and as important as Bob Dylan and Neil Young. I look forward to hearing what comes in the future…

Live forever.

One Response to “Noel Thomas David Gallagher”

  1. Amy September 10, 2009 at . #

    Man, you are spot-on. I can relate to this post in so many ways. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

