Dream of Sleeping

6 Aug

Neil Cartmell AKA ‘Dream of Sleeping’ is a melancholic singer/songwriter from the Midlands who makes really sleepy acoustic music in a similar style to Iron & Wine, Damien Rice and Elbow’s most vulnerable moments. The songs are peaceful to listen to and full to the brim with emotion.

From the very first line of ‘Dry Lips, Cracked Skin’ I was captivated and overcome by a huge overwhelming feeling of empathy.

I can’t go to sleep without some form of background noise, I don’t know why. To overcome this, I have an iTunes playlist that consists of acoustic music and mellow post rock. Nothing that’s too distracting but something that I can lose myself in while I float off into slumberland. Dream of Sleeping is the perfect music for that playlist.

At the time of writing, he is finishing up his first album. I really can’t wait to hear it. I think he’s got what it takes to go very very far.

http://www.myspace.com/dreamofsleepingtheband

Leave a Reply

