Horse Guards Parade

3 Aug

Horse Guards Parade are a rather lovely blend of country, folk and psychedelic music from the 1960s. Think Love meets The Band or if I was to compare them to modern bands, it’d be part Coral, part Arcade Fire and part Doves. But I hate doing that when talking about bands. It’s lazy. And I’m sure the band hate being compared and pigeon holed.

The songs have a classic cinematic feel to them – like Ennio Morricone’s best work in beautifully crafted song form. Sometimes when I listen to music, I like to close my eyes and let my imagine be controlled by the sounds I am hearing. When listening to Horse Guards Parade – in my head, I could picture an empty Pacific Coast Highway at sunset with an absolutely mesmerizing view of the west coast surrounding the Ford Mustang I am driving. The freedom of the ocean in full view to one side of me with glow of the approaching city in the horizon. Or the imagery of ‘Fear and Loathing’ without the drug cocktail induced insanity. 

The first listen was amazing and they just get better and better in my opinon. I know I get excited by so much music but it’s so hard not to when there’s music out there that is this good. And by good, I mean really fucking good.

‘As The Plane Lifts It’s Wheels’ sounds like a hidden track from a Tarantino film soundtrack and ‘This City Is On Fire’ sounds nothing like it’s title would expect – it’s an overwhelmingly stunning piece of music that I think will be on my late night iTunes playlist for quite some time.

One Response to “Horse Guards Parade”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reading and Leeds 2009… Sing me something new! « You Heard It Here First - August 3, 2009

    […] Horse Guards Parade […]

Leave a Reply

