NewIslands

4 Jul

Ladies and gentlemen, for the next few minutes, imagine that I’m your tour guide. Today – I shall be telling you all about Northampton. I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, what’s cool about Northampton?

Well, did you know that Northampton has the biggest market square in England? Did you know that it is only twenty miles away from where my hometown is – giving me the ability to get home between the time Hollyoaks starts and Hollyoaks ends? And did you know that kids TV legend Toby Anstis was born here? No? Well you do now. Remember these facts in case they come up at a future pub quiz. Speaking of pubs, if you are underage – I recommend the Racehorse.

Oh and the town used to be home to the ace venue Soundhaus (sadly no longer with us) and is still home to the Roadmender – a regular stop off point for bands on the circuit.

Anyway, I’m waffling. The main reason for this post is to inform you all of a sweet band from Northampton that I think are ace. The band in question is NewIslands – an 80s synth driven indie quartet that you can shake your ass too. But I wouldn’t advise that, the RSPCA don’t take to kindly to donkey abuse. Instead, just dance like any normal person that understands that animals have feelings too.

It’s early days for the Northampton four piece but their songs have an amazingly uplifting quality with massive commercial potential. The songs sound both retro and fresh at the same time. I wish I could describe bands better in text form. I am no music journalist but I can safely say that the band are ace and you should go and check them out at your first available opportunity. They are living proof that pop music doesn’t have to be shit.

Mat Horne (his last name is quite appropriate if the stories I’ve heard are true) is a huge fan already and it’s only a matter of time before the rest of the world jumps on board.

Check them out. Your life will be all the better for it. Oh and ladies, it’s not my cup of gin, but they are all such handsome young men also. The bastards! Just what I need… competition.

For gig listings and eargasms, check out their MySpace page: www.myspace.com/newislands

2 Responses to “NewIslands”

  1. Ali Howells August 29, 2009 at . #

    Pop music is far from shit with these guys.
    I am pleased to say that I caught them @ The Flowerpot down in London last month – I hasten to add at this point that they are a quintet now, and yeah, another good looking bloke I’m afraid !……but their sound is just amazing, it’s a cross between Pet Shop Boys / Joy Division / Buggles and other 80’s misfits…..the band are really together, and they each compliment eachother with their sounds & good looks….I challenge any girl to try & look as good as Luke ( guitar/keyboards etc., )in a dress !!!!
    Newislands are sure to be arrivng at a shore near you in 2010 – make sure you are there to see them !!!
    XX

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tips for 2010 – Gyratory System, NewIslands, Sound of Guns « You Heard It Here First - January 13, 2010

    […] Sadly this is the best quality vid they have on YouTube. For more info on them, check out my old post about them here. […]

Leave a Reply

