It’s been a while, it’s been a while…

28 Dec

Not quite sure why I’ve opened with a Staind lyric but it really has been ages since I posted anything here. I’ve been super, super busy with various things which I will reveal in a little while and I’ve also spent the days of Christmas ill. I guess I must’ve been a bad boy this year. Either that or flu is a cool present that I’m just too old to understand.

So, university – final year. It’s an exciting time and it’s also a very stressful and scary time. Firstly, the excitement… I can’t wait to finish. I can’t wait to get out in the real world and start giving something back. Being at university really does make you feel out of the loop. For the past two and a bit years, I’ve felt like my life’s been on hold.  Friends of mine have become engaged, some married, some have kids, some have mortgages. My friends are all grown ups! Not to say that that’s what I want right now, I can’t imagine that by any stretch of the imagination. Firstly, I don’t think I’m capable of keeping hold of a girl long enough to get engaged, let alone get married. And as for having kids, the idea just seems a million miles away. Naive perhaps. But this is something that university life has brought me. It’s made me forget how old I really am. Does this sound like I’m having a midlife crisis? I was 27 a few weeks ago and for the first time ever I have started to feel grown up. Maybe with university coming to a conclusion I am starting to realise that my youth will soon be no more! Which is exciting in a way, part of me is looking forward to having a routine, a job, a nice place to life (non student house), nice food, being able to go to nice places without thinking “looks like I’ll have to eat beans for the next month”.

The stress… far too much work. My degree is in the music business. I aim to work in the music business. I’ve been dipping my toe in various areas of the industry since I was 17 and it’s finally coming to a point where I might be able to make a living out of it! But there really is no guarantee. The fear tends to come in waves, but when it does, it’s horrible. I sit and wonder and panic about leaving uni with a degree and a good bunch of contacts but NO job. Instead, I’ll be back in a warehouse working with idiots. I know what I am good at and I know that I can offer the musical world a lot but everyone can blog about music nowadays. What the hell makes me unique? Sure, I have a good ear for talent. I have proven that in the past and once again, the “hot new bands of 2009” list that was thrown together by NME last week consisted of loads of bands that I’ve been playing on my radio show for months.

Social networking and P2P file sharing make it a hell of a lot easier to discover great new music on your own whenever you want. Is there a need for an A&R man anymore? Is there a need for a “new music spokesman” anymore? Has the industry just become a “it’s here if you need/want it” industry? Loads of fears. Woah. I’m ranting a bit aren’t I?

Anyway, moving on…. I think it’s absolutely that the London Astoria is closing it’s doors on January 15th. What also annoys me is that the final night at the venue will be hosted by Manumission. A sex club night right? Really?! All the great bands that have played at the venue over the years and the last thing it gets to see before it is taken from this world is a Right Said Fred show. Is it me or is there something not quite right about that? Couldn’t they have got a great band to play it? 

Astoria 2, Metro and Sin are closing down too. What is happening to the great city? Promises have been made that a new venue will be put in place once the crossrail link thingymagiggy is built but let’s face it, it will have no soul or history. Look at Indigo2, Islington Academy… and remember the Ocean in Hackney? New venues just don’t cut the mustard. How long before Brixton Academy goes to be made into a Starbucks sponsored music superdome with Pepsi logos plastered all over the place?

I do apologise for the misery of this blog. I’ve got flu at the moment as I mentioned and I have nothing else to do but sit and moan. 

Actually, I think I will leave you all alone now. It’s a quiet time of year musically, I’m back on the radio soon enough though with a look ahead to 2009. I’ve got some corkers. I’ve got a good feeling about this year. It doesn’t really kick off properly until February but January is always the best time to discover new music and I really hope you give me a chance to share with you what is great in the musical world right now. It’s nice to feel appreciated every now and then isn’t it?

Oh, and a happy new year to you all. I don’t ever really make new year’s resolutions as such but I’ve started to change my ways in the past few weeks anyway that I will continue with on a day-to-day basis – I won’t go into details but I’ve decided to eliminate whatever it’s possible to eliminate from my life that will make me happier. So far, I’m doing alright. I’m going to be a bit more ruthless and less forgiving. I know that I can be a bit of a grumpy bastard and often people misunderstand me as some egotistical idiot but in reality, all I want is what anybody else wants – to be respected and appreciated. If I don’t get that, I often throw my toys out of the pram. I don’t plan on doing that anymore, I just plan on not letting idiots get to me and not deal with them ever again.

Leave a Reply

