November 17th

17 Nov

Hey everybody. What’s the story? How is everyone? I had such a lazy weekend. My week days are non-stop and I only get about five hours sleep a night during the week so over the weekend I was in bed by 10pm every night. I feel refreshed and recharged ready for yet another ridiculously long week. I am contemplating looking for another job as getting up at 5am every single day is killing me. Especially when I have uni work to be doing. OK, I finish at 10am but the rest of the day is spent looking, sounding and feeling like a George A Romero extra that I can never really focus on what I’m doing. But sadly, I need the money so I can’t “stick it to the man” just yet.

Firstly, let me start by saying I’m on the air tonight with You Heard It Here First tonight at 7pm on Smoke Radio.

It’s the start of a new week once again and like last week, I’ve got a list of ten new bands for you to check out that have been making me excited this week. As well as these ten bands, please check out all the other ones I post throughout the week. Some of them you may have heard about on the grapevine but I’m doing my best to hunt down unknown bands for you too – so you don’t have to. Anyway, here goes:

35 Seconds

Royal Treatment Plant

You Animals

Gloria Cycles

Shapes

Preacher and the Knife

Tantrums

Colour

M101

White Williams

There’s a couple of really cool gigs happening in London this week – tonight sees Yo! Majesty play the Barfly, Frightened Rabbit, Dan Black and Baddies are all on the same bill at the Hoxton Bar & Grill tomorrow (November 18th) as well as The Airborne Toxic Event playing at the Dublin Castle. Wednesday is hectic with Low, Death Cab For Cutie, The Whip, TV On The Radio and We Have Band all playing across the city. Thursday is much the same with Ryan Adams, The Kills, Sigur Ros and The Faint battling for your gig going arses. Friday sees gigs from Ladytron, Jay Jay Pistolet, The Notwist, Soko, The Rifles, Elliot Minor and Jackson United (Foo Fighters’ Chris Shiftlet’s side project), Saturday, Carter USM, My Vitriol, These Arms Are Snakes, Motorhead and Dizzee Rascal while on the day of rest, Napalm Death play at the Underworld. 

There are of course a load more gigs going on so do get out there and see some music!

That said, if you’re like me and a struggling student then going to gigs might seem like an impossible task. Christmas is only round the corner and the Basics pasta won’t pay for itself! With that in mind, here’s something going on for FREE. Marsha at XFM has been raving about something happening this Tuesday called Mobile Clubbing. I’ve never done it myself, but what happens is that everyone turns up to a certain place at a certain time with their iPods and has a silent disco. I quite enjoyed the silent disco at Glastonbury this year so I guess this will kind of be similar – except for the fact that you can listen to whatever you want and you’re bound to get a few people passing by that have no idea what is going on and will be confused and unable to sleep that night! Also, people dance differently to different styles of music – can you imagine what it must look like if you’re dancing to Lee Scratch Perry but your mate next to you is rocking out to Slayer?! It all starts at 6.20pm outside The Royal Exchange (which is by Bank station I do believe) and if the last one is anything to go by, it’ll be chaos!

Anyway, for more details – check out the website – www.mobile-clubbing.com

Somebody said to me the other day that I should do some press shots for this blog and for my radio portfolio… I’m going to spend all week posing in front of the mirror but I am not sure if I feel comfortable doing this – I realised over the weekend that my hair is starting to look exactly like Alex James’ (Blur). For the love of God, grow back. Grow back NOW.

Until next time….

M Bizzle

Leave a Reply

